Shown above is our cryostat, one of our various attachments for our ellipsometer



Here we have our O-Zone cleaner (left) and our annealer (right)

Shown above is our IR ellipsometer


Rigo and Pablo are working to remove the cryostat while Cesy is preparing the software for in air ellipsometric measurements

Rigo supervising Cesy mount a sample for a spectroscopic measurement, while Pablo watches and will begin instrument alignment













Ayana and Nathan having fun helping Travis with the cryostat


Cayla taking notes as Nathan and Ayana carefully watch Travis put the cryostat back together



Dr.Heinrich Nakotte, Lina Abdallah, and Dr.Stefan Zollner observe as Timothy Nunley attach a sample to the spectroscopic ellipsometer





Farzin Abadizaman, an NMSU Ph.D. student in the Department of Physics received an award for the best student talk in the ellipsometry focus topic at the AVS International Symposium, held in Columbus, OH, from October 20-25, 2019. In the photos, the award is presented to Farzin by Dr. Eva Bittrich, a German government scientist at the Leibniz Institute for Polymer Research in Dresden.

8th International Conference on Spectroscopic Ellipsometry (ICSE-8), Spain, 2019: From left to right: Dr Stefan Zollner, Nuwanjula Samarasingha, Rigo Carrasco, Carola Emminger















Nuwanjula (left corner) won third place at the AVS New Mexico Symposium 2017 oral presentation session


Nuwanjula after receiving an award from Professor Morten Kildemo, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, at the AVS 63rd International Symposium & Exhibition, Nashville, 2016
















Four Corners Section Meeting, 2013: Nate Nunley standing by his poster getting ready to present his research


Presenters at RGSAM 2014, From left to right: Cesar Rodriguez, Dennis Trujillo, Luis Barrera, Nathan Nunley












Four Corners Meeting, 2013: Laura Pineda standing next to her poster ready to discuss her research

Four Corners Section Meeting, 2012: Cesar standing by his poster about the determination of RGB color coordinates from spectroscopic reflectance measurements









Four Corners Section Meeting, 2012: Travis and Eric ready to present their poster on the infrared lattice dynamics of lanthanum aluminate


Four Corners Section Meeting, 2012: Cayla Nelson presenting the research she did at the Ohio State University



2012 Four Corners Section Meeting, Socorro, from left to right: Christine Acheampong, Cayla Nelson, Lina Abdallah

Four Corners Section Meeting, 2013: Khadijih Mitchell and Cesar Rodriguez ready to present their research on Samarium doped Cerium




Four Corners Section Meeting, 2012: From left to right: Christine Acheampong, Cayla Nelson, Ramaninder Brar, Lina Abdallah, Eric Delong, Cesar Rodriguez

Group Photos


Spring 2018 Physics Gala, from left to right: Zachary Yoder, Rigo Carrasco, Pablo Paradis, Dr. Stefan Zollner, Dr. Candi Cook, Nuwanjula Samarasingha, Travis Willett-Gies, Cayla Nelson, Farzin Abadizaman, Carola Emminger, Nathan Nunley

Spring 2019 Physics Gala, from left to right: Dr. Candi Cook, Nuwanjula Samarasingha, Nathan Nunley, Pablo Paradis, Farzin Abadizaman, Cesy Zamarripa, Rigo Carrasco


Dr. Zollner being honored for his accomplishments in Research. He receives, a plaque at mid-court with his students from Dr. Provost Dan Howard at a basketball game February 08, 2018

2018 APS March Meeting, Los Angeles, California.
Dinner after FIAP meeting. Left to right: Suzanne Rosenzweig, Rigo Carrasco, Martin Hebenstreit, Dr. Paul Nordine, Farzin Abadizaman, Carola Emminger, and Dr. Matt Kim


2017, Going Away Party for Nalin and Carola, from left to right: Nalin Fernando, Zachary Yoder, Farzin Abadizaman, Pablo Paradis, Nuwanjula Samarasingha, Carola Emminger, Nica Richard

2017 AVS 64th International Symposium and Exhibition Left to right: Cesy Zamarripa, Rigo Carrasco, Carola Emminger, Professor John Woollam, Dr. Stefan Zollner, Farzin Abadizaman, Nuwanjula Samarasingha and Pablo Paradis


2016 AVS 63rd International Symposium
and Exhibition Left to right: Jaime Moya, Nalin Fernando, Jacqueline Cooke, Nuwanjula     Samarasingha and Dr. Stefan Zollner

Spring 2017 Physics Gala front row, from left: Nica Richard Vasquez, Alexandra Hartman, Jacqueline Cooke, Nuwanjula Samarasingha, Jaime Moya, Nalin Fernando
Back row, from left: Carola Emminger, Farzin Abadizaman, Dr. Stefan Zollner, Dominik Martens, Troy Powell, Pablo Paradis, Luis Barrera, Nathan Nunley



Spring 2014 Physics Gala from left to right: Laura Pineda, Cayla Nelson, Khadijih Mitchell (with her daughter Nellie), Lina Abdallah, Nalin Fernando, Stefan Zollner, and Lucy Zollner


Spring 2015 Physics Gala, from left to right: Jaime Moya, Hasan Salehi, Nalin Fernando, Dennis Trujillo,Timothy Nunley, Amber Medina, Dr. Stefan Zollner, Luis Barrera, Laura Pineda, Nuwanjula Sandamali, Khadijih Mitchell, and Cesar Rodriguez












2013, Going Away Party for Christine, from left to right: Khadijih Mitchell, Lina Abdalla, Laura Pineda, Nathan Nunley, Christine Acheampong, Cesar Rodriguez, Travis Willett-Gies, Stefan Zollner, Cayla Nelson


2013 Fall Physics Picnic, from left to right: Cesar Rodriguez, Nathan Nunley, Nalin Fernando, Tarek Tawalbeh, Lina Abdallah, Stefan Zollner, Lucy Zollner, Khadijih Mitchell (with her two children Nellie and Orion), Travis Willett Gies, and Cayla Nelson













Four Corners Section Meeting, 2012: From left to right Standing: Christine Acheampong, Cesar Rodriguez, Eric Delong, Travis Willett-Gies, Stefan Zollner; Sitting: Cayla Nelson, Lina Abdallah




Other Photos



Amber Medina working in the ellipsometry Lab


Summer 2013: Laura and Ayana working on their research












Summer 2013: Khadijih Mitchell and Travis Willett-Gies conduct Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM) in Skeen Hall